A Friday thought

12 Aug

The riots across the UK this last week have got me musing over the way the world is going. You see, I’m a big believer in collective energy – what we put into the world contributes to a much bigger picture, and determines what we get out of it. The last few days I have to admit I’ve been somewhat depressed about the state of the planet. Between natural disasters, spontaneous killing sprees, oppressed nations and now complete lawlessness, I’ve started to feel like the world is coming to an end.

So today I stopped wallowing, and I had a real think about what I’VE been putting into the world this week. Well, to be honest, I’ve been giving off an air of despondency. I’ve been despairing at current events and adding to the atmosphere of doom, gloom and numb disbelief that any of this has been happening.

And I realised, this really isn’t good enough. Mahatma Gandhi said “be the change you want to see in the world.” So I thought I’d share this with you, a few little rules I’m going to set myself to do my bit to put some happiness back into this wounded country. I may well lapse on these, but, with the best of intentions, here is how I’d like to live my life:

1. I’d like to smile more. Even at strangers. Even if I look a bit weird. Because people don’t smile enough – and I realised when somebody smiled at me on the train the other day that it feels nice to be acknowledged in a pleasant way by a stranger. It’s infectious and makes you want to smile at the next person you see. So even though I might look a bit like Wednesday Addams forcing a creepy grin, I’m going to do it. Because it’s just a nice thing to do.

2. I’d like to look out for others. Too often we see someone, whether a stranger or not, in distress but we dismiss it as “not our problem”. Now, I’m well aware that we can’t take on the problems of others as our own, nor can we fix people who don’t want to be helped. But we can try to do a little something to help, even if it’s just a kind word or a sympathetic ear.

3. I’d like  to do something each day that makes me happy – because if I’m happy I’m much more useful to everyone around me. And I’m putting a much nicer energy into the world than when I’m miserable. So whether it’s writing a blog, playing the piano, crafting, decorating, baking or doing something completely random like fruit picking or clay painting, life’s too short not to treat myself.

4. I’d like to do nice things for people just because. Bringing cupcakes into work or leaving a magazine I’ve paid for on a train seat for the next person to find might just make a difference to someone’s day. It might not, but if there’s a chance it will, it’s worth doing.

5. Singing is the most powerfully positive thing you can do. So I’m going to sing more. Loudly. Like nobody’s watching.

So that’s it folks – yes, it’s a cheese fest, but maybe that’s what we all need. Leave me some comments and let me know how you like to make the world a happier place.

5 Responses to “A Friday thought”

  1. Vicky {Victoria Mary Vintage} August 12, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    What a lovely post. Doing nice things for people (inc strangers) is such a positive way to cheer yourself and others up – when I do it or someone does something for me, it’s not the end result that’s so lovely but the very act of kindness itself. Hope you stick to them!

  2. Sheridan August 12, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    It really is the best feeling to do nice things, I always say thank you to people that usually get ignored, bus drivers, newspaper sellers, underground staff etc . And I have secretly this week wanted to go up to a policeman kiss them and thank them for the wonderful job they have done this week. Lets hope its all over now xx

  3. loveumbrellas August 12, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    I love this… Random acts of kindness too!! Makes you feel amazing as well as everyone else!!

  4. royalweddingcountdown August 15, 2011 at 8:08 am #

    I’ve read your Friday thought on a Monday morning – and can assure you that it will resound with your readers, whenever they may read it. Succinct, from the heart and action-orientated… this is a really encouraging piece. I absolutely know what you mean. Last week I felt like I really wanted to do something… and while I didn’t feel equipped to storm into riot zones and try to stop looters and arsonists – the actions you’ve described are definitely doable. Let’s keep that positive feeling going in London.

    • sdoron August 15, 2011 at 8:11 am #

      Thank you all for the lovely comments. It’s encouraging how many people are ready to start looking at positive ways to make a difference 🙂 glad I’m not alone xx

Leave a Reply

