Wedding Tools #2 – Zankyou

29 Jun

Time for part 2 of my wedding tools review! On today’s agenda is Zankyou. The only way I can really describe it is a haven for modern brides who want to manage their guest list, gift list, maps, photos, links, guest book and pretty much anything else you can think of!

I had a little play around on the site and it’s really quite easy – you sign up for an account and customise your profile so it’s more unique to you. From there you can organise your wedding from one online place (and you can password protect the whole thing). You can:

  • Create a gift list where your guests contribute to the items on your list (they can all be from different sites) and then Zankyou sends the full cash equivalent of the gifts to your bank account. You can put anything on there, from furniture, to new tech gear, even stages of your honeymoon and charitable contributions. The site has glowing reviews for privacy options so you don’t need to worry about your details going missing.
  • Put up maps so guests can get directions to your venue.
  • List all your recommended local hotels and link to pretty much anything you like.
  • Have people sign your guestbook with anything from a message to a funny video.
  • This is my personal favourite – share your photo albums after the wedding! That way people who don’t know each other outside of the wedding don’t have to awkwardly trawl through Facebook for other people’s albums.
  • Send invitations, update guests on wedding news, see who RSVPs etc.

One thing to be aware of is a small fee for the handling of gift contributions. This comes to 2.85% of the amount contributed. Guests can opt to pay for the fee instead when they pay for their gifts. This is still pretty much the lowest on the market and for the peace of mind it brings I reckon it’s worth the small percentage.

So that’s it in a nutshell – I’ve used it so far for general information and plan to use it to keep track of who’s coming and providing them with directions. I’m particularly excited about using the photo sharing function – it’s a nice way to keep everything together. Have any of you used Zankyou? What did you think?

2 Responses to “Wedding Tools #2 – Zankyou”

  1. Jade July 5, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    A friend of mine used this for her wedding and their webpage was very cool. Their gift list was pretty unique too. They listed some antique furniture and the details of a painting they wanted to buy from a small gallery. I think some people felt a bit nervous about not using a gift list from a big brand store to buy gifts for them but they were really happy to be able to use the money to buy what they wanted.

  2. Mary July 8, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    I used this website for my wedding and would recommend it to everyone. I found it particularly useful because I didn´t like the idea of putting bank details on a wedding invitation and this was the perfect solution. All my friends and family found it easy to use and we had no problem receiving our gifts. I love the fact that one can choose what language they want to use as my husband and I had a mix of English and Spanish guests so we did not have to double the information we posted and all the relevant instructions. My wedding was almost two years ago now but I still enjoy checking the website for updates on wedding trends, dresses and competitions I get my friends who are engaged to enter in.

Leave a Reply

